Ballinadee is a small traditional country village serving the surrounding farming community.
Situated on an inlet of the Bandon River estuary it is a quiet peaceful place visitors may relax on the seating provided near the banks of the inlet and read information about the bird life.
There is a memorial plaque to Dr John Milner Barry credited with founding Cork Fever Hospital city to prevent the spread of Typhus Fever in 1802. The Sacred Heart Roman Catholic Church has been restored in recent times and has a prominent position at the eastern entrance to the village. Opposite secluded behind trees is the private Annesville House once the home of the local landlord. Another plaque to the memory of Patsy O’ Flynn a renowned Olympian athlete is situated close to the entrance. Continuing up the village one comes to the Church of Ireland parish church of Ballinadee and nestled behind is the old rectory now Glebe Country House. The church is believed to have been built in 1759 on the site of a previous church, it is now part of the Bandon Union of five parishes. The village has two traditional pubs, O’Donovan’s Pub and Corcoran’s Pub and shop and the western end of the village Ryans Shop and petrol pumps situated close to the site of the old creamery.